Here’s how to delete your entire Facebook Messenger inbox

How to deactivate your Facebook account?

Browsing interrupted
A Anonymous Sep 26, But some people might not be aware of this. Clicking it invokes a pop-up window. Please, help who knows. Thanks to all authors for creating a page that has been read 17,, times. How can I delete a Facebook account permanently without waiting for 14 days?

Deleting vs deactivating your Facebook account

Delete Everything! Torch Your Facebook Account and Walk Away

It's a white app with a blue message bubble and white lightning bolt inside. If you aren't signed into Messenger, type in your phone number, tap Continue , and enter your password. Tap the Home tab. It's the house-shaped icon in the bottom-left corner of the screen. If Messenger opens to a conversation, tap the Back button in the top-left corner of the screen first.

Scroll to the conversation you wish to delete. If it's an old conversation, you may have to scroll down several times. Swipe left over the conversation. Doing so will bring up a row of options on the right side of the conversation box.

It's the red button on the far-right side of the screen. This option is at the top of the pop-up window that appears after tapping Delete. Doing so will permanently remove the conversation from your message history.

Tap and hold the conversation. After a second or so, a window with the heading "Conversation" will pop up. It's the option at the top of the "Conversation" window. Tap Delete Conversation when prompted. Doing so will remove the conversation from your Facebook messages history.

Open the Facebook website. If you're logged into Facebook, doing so will open your News Feed. If you aren't logged into Facebook, enter your email address or phone number into the top-right corner of the screen and click Log In. Click the Messenger icon. It looks like a message bubble with a lightning bolt inside, in the row of options located in the top-right side of the Facebook page.

Click View All in Messenger. This link is at the bottom of the Messenger drop-down menu. Clicking it will open the Messenger utility. Your conversations are stored on the left side of this page. Hover your mouse cursor over the message. You should see a small gear icon appear in the bottom-right corner of the selected message. Doing so will open a drop-down menu with several options.

It's near the middle of the drop-down menu. Click Delete when prompted. You should see this option on the pop-up "Delete Conversation" window. Clicking it will permanently remove your selected conversation from your messages history. Do you want to log in or join Facebook?

How do I permanently delete my Facebook account? What happens if I permanently delete my Facebook account? What if I don't want all my content deleted, but I want to take a break from Facebook? You can take a break from Facebook and temporarily deactivate your account. When you temporarily deactivate your account:.

Learn how to temporarily deactivate your account. Before deleting your account, you may want to log in and download a copy of your information like your photos and posts from Facebook.

After your account has been deleted, you won't be able to retrieve anything you've added. To permanently delete your account, log into your account and let us know.

Backup your Facebook data