How to Delete All of Your Facebook Activity

Get Future Tense in your inbox.


If your friend is medically incapacitated and unable to use Facebook, we might be able to help you remove their account. If you still don't recognize this activity after reviewing your purchases, let us know. How do I deal with spam? Sure, some links and videos are worth revisiting—but does anyone really care that I was tired on that Monday in ? If you set a daily budget but meant to set a lifetime budget or vice versa , you may be billed differently than expected. Pages can only be accessed through a personal account that belongs to an admin. If you share either your payment method or ad account with others, be sure to check with them if you don't recognize charges on your account.

It was hard.


If the email associated with your Facebook account has changed, you can reverse this. When an email is changed, we send a message to the previous email account with a special link. You can click this link to reverse the email change and secure your account.

Was this information helpful? How do I deal with spam? Spam involves contacting people with unwanted content or requests. This includes sending bulk messages, excessively posting links or images to people's timelines and sending friend requests to people you don't know personally.

Spam is sometimes spread through clicking on bad links or installing malicious software. On other occasions, scammers gain access to people's Facebook accounts, which are then used to send out spam. If you clicked on something that turned out to be spam or your account is creating unwanted posts, events, groups or Pages, try these steps:.

If you think the person posting spam was hacked, tell them to visit the Help Center to get help. My account was hacked and used to make purchases on apps. If there's spending activity on your account that you don't recognize, please review your purchase history. If you still don't recognize this activity after reviewing your purchases, let us know. If you think your account was taken over by someone else, we can help you secure it.

What to do if you don't recognize activity on your advertising account. Do you think your personal Facebook profile may have been hacked? Learn how to secure your account. If you don't recognize activity on your advertising account, here are a few steps you can take to learn more about charges that occurred and what may have caused them:.

The Billing section of Ads Manager is where you can find your ad account's billing information. There, you can view your payment history and get receipts for payments you've made for your ads. To learn more about a specific charge, go to the list of transactions in the Billing section of your Ads Manager and click the Transaction ID of the charge you want to know more about. This will bring you to your receipt for that charge.

Your ads receipt will show you things like how much you paid, when you paid, which payment method was charged and which ads you spent money on.

Once you have your ads receipt, you can review the Billing Reason that's listed on it to find out why you were charged.

This will let you know if a charge happened because you reached your billing threshold or your monthly bill date:. Keep in mind that it's normal to be charged for ads multiple times a month or even after you've stopped running them. This is because when you create ads on Facebook like boosting posts from your Page , you don't pay for them right away.

Instead, as they run and people see them, they accrue ad costs that you'll be charged for later. A billing threshold is an amount that you can spend on ads before we charge you for them. Whenever your ad costs reach your billing threshold, we'll charge you that amount. Your monthly bill date is when we charge you each month for ad costs that don't quite reach your billing threshold. Because of this, you may be charged multiple times or just once in a given month, depending on how much money you're spending on ads:.

Learn more about your billing threshold and monthly bill date. A budget is a cost control tool. It helps control your overall spend for an ad set or campaign. There are two types of budgets:. Deleting 30, things takes a long time. Clicking that shows a menu of options. Some items can be truly purged; the Delete option is in the menu itself. For Likes, the closest equivalent is unlike. Although it felt a bit harsh, I was committed.

So, I unliked everything. I found two options: Both are actively maintained, which is important. Facebook changes its code frequently, so tools that interact with it need to keep up.

Facebook Timeline Cleaner is the more nuanced option. It allows you to delete posts older or younger than a given time. I spent a week trying to get it to work in Firefox and Chrome. It would run for eight to 10 hours, delete some things, and then the browser would crash. I tried it for only very old posts, but it still fizzled.

I suspect this is because I had so much activity, and the computational power required to run the script was more than the browser could handle. The tool also allows users to change the speed of their deletions, ensuring that with enough time, your activity log is really scrubbed clean.

The most frustrating thing: I found that posts I deleted would reappear later. This happened to posts I hand-deleted as well as some of those deleted by certain tools. The technology it uses to process a deletion could hiccup. Facebook also has a complex and extensive content delivery network with copies of posts stored in many places, so a stray copy could show up after deletion.

Still, this resurrection of posts makes an already-painful process even worse. I had to make several passes through each section to get everything deleted. At its core, social interaction is a time-sensitive activity. Networks like Facebook are oriented around the present. A like or comment on a week-old post makes sense.

A comment on something you posted a year ago feels weird. I had it pretty easy: